I Do Not Trust You Blog Tour

I Do not Trust You

I Do Not Trust You

By: Laura J. Burns & Melinda Metz

Published By: Wednesday Books

Available: September 11th (Today!)

Memphis “M” Engel is stubborn, graced with knowledge of lost languages and cultures, and a good opponent in a fight.

Ash Sood is holding onto a whole lot of secrets but he needs a map M inherited from her archeologist father that will lead him to a relic with the power to destroy the world. M needs to hold onto that map- or find the relic- whichever comes first to save what’s left of her family.

While they can’t trust each other they have little choice but to form a partnership and go on a worldwide hunt for the relic. But Ash’s secrets and his past is downright dangerous and M can never be sure whether he’s her friend or her enemy.

Goodreads

*The publisher provided me with a copy through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review!

My Thoughts

I took a while to acclimate to this one mainly because I saw using knowledge of lost language and culture and thought okay cool and didn’t read anything else went into it totally blind. So that this feels far more of an adventure story a la The Da Vinci Code than a mystery threw me off a little bit.

M and Ash are searching for the remains of Set- the Egyptian God- which two powerful cults are fighting over. So if you’re interested in Egyptian mythology (and actually they touch on a couple other cultures throughout the book) added benefit!

It really made me want to watch Gods of Egypt. You know? Besides the benefit of Nikolaj Coster Waldau’s abs.

I like a good adventure and I love hopping around the globe and thought the places were described well. I liked what the authors did with the idea of sacred sites and religion, faith versus the kinds of things being pushed by both cults. M and Ash were good characters though they beat the drum with the lack of trust quiet a bit no overt romance although it definitely comes up near the end.

I suppose untrustworthy youths and the end of the world can only hold you back so much if you’re hot and young?

Once I got on board and accepted the crocodile fighting I enjoyed the ride!

Recommend: Yes- especially for fans of The Da Vinci Code & Indiana Jones. The book also gave me DC Universe vibes at times.

Grade: B

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

About the authors:

Laura J. Burns and Melinda Metz have written many books for teens and middle-grade readers including Sanctuary Bay, Crave, Sacrifice and Wright and Wong. They also wrote for Roswell (Hey, I loved that show!) 1-800-Missing and The Dead Zone. They live in different states but do most of their work together on e-mail!

Author Facebook

5 thoughts on “I Do Not Trust You Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: Harry Potter – You’re Not Good Enough Tag – Sophia Ismaa Writes

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s